Endangered Species

There are very few things in this world I am a minority in. I am a white male, from the suburbs of Connecticut, from a middle class family that is fairly religious. From all accounts, I have it made. This, of course, has led to my great white guilt and subsequent liberal views on the world. Damn you whitey!

But the one very, very, very small minority I was happy to belong to was the club of about 7 of us that have had Xbox 360s since launch that had not given us the Red Ring of Death. I’m sorry to report that as of 10:30am August 27th, 2008…. I am no longer a part of this group any longer. Microsoft’s blatant prejudice against people having working consoles has alluded me for a long time but I am their latest victim.

It’s something I’ve been flirting with for a while now. My Xbox is a fairly loud piece of electronics. The HDD has also been very slow, taking minutes to fill out my games list. I got the occasional Dirty Disc Error also, and all of these things made me think my days were numbered. I held out for a long time though. It’s been acting this way for years and has survived, while my PS3 (which doesn’t seem to break for anyone else) shit the bed with a faulty blu-ray drive.

I don’t know if there are any hard numbers on this, and if there are they are from Microsoft and probably skewed in their favor, but just speaking anecdotaly I know of one other person who hasn’t had a RROD. This is probably out of about 50 guys I know (through forums mostly) that have the system. And, anecdotaly, most of these guys have had to send their machines in multiple times. None of the systems seem to be immune either, the Elite has RROD’d, the Normal one has RROD’d, the newer version with the HDMI outputs has RROD’d, the Arcade one has RROD’d. How have they not fixed this problem yet? It’s perplexing.

Needless to say I am not a happy camper right now. My PS3 still hasn’t been repaired because I’ve been saving for a new PC and for a trip this coming weekend with my better half. But at least on the PS3 I can play downloaded games (Ratchet and Clank and Bionic Commando were gonna be the focus of my post today, but I’ll save that for tomorrow now). So here I am with a 3+ year old PC using on board video, a PS3 with a shot blu-ray drive and 360 with the almighty RROD. My life is terrible! Thank internet Jesus for World of Warcraft, I guess.

Hopefully the turn around on my 360 will be fast. Most of my internet nerd friends who have had theirs replaced in the past few weeks have said it’s been as quick as two weeks. But this has left my NCAA Football dynasty in a lurch. I can sometimes get my 360 to work for 3-5 minutes, which gave me a big enough window to switch myself from being the commissioner of the online dynasty I am running, but there is no option to do that. This is a big oversight on EA’s part as they should assume that everyone’s fucking Xbox would be exploding every 2-3 weeks and switching leaders would be needed. Maybe the designers are part of the final 6 with systems that haven’t shit the bed yet.

I’m gonna miss you Battlefield: Bad Company. I’m gonna miss you most online dynasty in NCAA. I’m even gonna miss you Madden 09. Hopefully I’ll be back to feeling your tender embrace in a few short weeks.

2 thoughts on “Endangered Species

  1. In some of the worst moments of my life, I have found that the prospect of instant gratification was only a credit card swipe away.

    How can gamers put up with this type of faulty hardware? Is it the awesomeness of the games that make you want to forget about such engineer feats they are?

Leave a Reply

