Burnout: Big Surf

As I sat in my boxers last night, sweating as my bare legs stuck to my office chair, I realized that the new Burnout: Big Surf Island is totally worth the money. At first look, I have to admit I was a touch underwhelmed. “That’s it,” I recall asking myself. How wrong I was. I have spent nearly 5 hours searching for billboards, crash gates, and mega jumps. Five hours without even trying more than a couple events. Wonderful!

The island itself is admittedly small in comparison to the rest of Paradise City. Like most things, looks are deceiving.  The island is incredibly dense, packed with ramps, shortcuts, platforms, hidden areas, and fun. The island itself is somewhat split between and a city area and an out of town vibe, similar to the whole of Paradise City. Superjumps are replaced with “Mega Jumps” while crash gates, billboards, and events stay the same.

The island does seem to be a touch more vertical than its counterpart. Many of the billboards and jumps can only be attained after a bit of vehicular platforming. As ridiculous as that sounds, it is the islands strong point. Fellow nerd SneakyTurtleEgg and I had a great time stair stepping across roof tops in order to reach certain jumps and billboards. Great fun. I would advise that a group of friends purchase this together so that the exploring can be done together, either local or online.

Keep in mind, this download follows the evergrowing trend of throw away software now forming in the gaming world. Not to say this is a bad thing, just understand that the replay value is very low once collectibles and events are finished. I know that my play time across the bridge will end within the next week or so. That said, I want more content of this type. Ten dollars for a good weekend of gaming is perfect. They could release eight more islands and I would buy them all.

In the end, if you are a burnout fan, why are you reading this and not riding the Big Surf.

2 thoughts on “Burnout: Big Surf

  1. Agreed–very pleased with Big Surf. And it’s helping to achieve my Burnout license as well. All of my stunt runs find their way across the bridge to the surf.

Leave a Reply

