PSP games on the Vita (UPDATED 7/26/12 with FFIV Complete + 3 more)

Update #1: Added 6 of the Atlus 50% games.

Update #2: Added 1 more Atlus sale game and  2 others.

Update #3: Added Persona 2/3, Killzone, Daxter and more.

Update #4: Added GTA:CW, Castlevania, Monster Hunter, Valkyria Chronicles 2 and more.

Update #5: Wizorb added (below PSP games)

Update #6: FFIV, Dead Head Fred, Ys Seven and more

Original story (scroll down for list)

The best thing, to me, about the YouTube app on the Vita is that now when I’m rummaging through the Vita PSN Store to find a cheap but potentially good PSP or Mini I can then flip over to the YouTube app and watch some video of it. The problem is that most of this video was shot 5 years ago and is done with inferior cameras filming an inferior device.

So I decided to step up and fill the void with footage of the PSP and Minis that I have.  My camera is nice, the Vita screen is amazing and sometimes having that second stick can really add to a game.  These videos aren’t perfect, of course.  I wish I could get a direct feed as even though the camera is pretty amazing it does create interlacing and aliasing issues from time to time.  Also you’ll notice there is no game sound.  That’s mostly because it’s summer here and my air conditioner is about 3 feet from where I record.

These videos are being put up with the hopes that people doing exactly what I do with the YouTube app will see how the games will run on their device. This post will be updated all summer long (and I expect the entire project to take me all summer) with new videos.  I don’t own every PSP game, obviously, but it’s kinda absurd how many I do.  Requests will help move things to the front of the queue so feel free to drop them in the comments. And if I don’t own it you may help convince me to buy it…

PSP GAMES:

Burnout Legends

Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles

Cladun X2

Class of Heroes

Crimsom Gem Saga

Daxter

Dead Head Fred

Final Fantasy IV Complete

God of War: Chains of Olympus

Gods Eater Burst

Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars

Hexyz Force

Jak and Daxter: The Lost Frontier

Kenka Bancho Badass Rumble

Killzone: Liberation

Knights in the Nightmare

Monster Hunter: Freedom Unite

NBA 2K12

Persona 2

Persona 3 Portable

Ratchet and Clank: Size Matters

Riviera: The Promised Land

Sonic Rivals

Valkyria Chronicles 2

Yggdra Union

Ys Seven

 

MINIS:

Wizorb

 

 

7 thoughts on “PSP games on the Vita (UPDATED 7/26/12 with FFIV Complete + 3 more)

    • Yeah, I have it and love it. I will be putting a video up of it eventually. I have a busy weekend with the job that actually pays me money but I’ll be putting a bunch more of these videos up starting early next week.

  1. Burnout Legends doesn’t work on the Vita unfortunately.

    None of the EA games do.

    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite, GTA: Vice City Stories, Motorstorm Arctic Edge, Final Fantasy Tactics (small download size too- 195mb) and Sega Mega Drive (Genesis in US, I believe) Collection all work fantastically though.

    I have them on my Vita.

    For minis, I recommend Velocity, Where Is My Heart, Fieldrunners and Monsters (Probably) Stole My Princess.

    • Burnout Legends works in the US. It does not work in the UK/Europe. Why? Cuz EA…

      So I’m assuming your in europe? Atleast you guys get way better PSN sales of vita games than us. And by way better I mean you get them at all. We havent had a single one yet.

      • Yeah, I’m from Ireland.

        Have to say the (one) Vita sale we got was awesome. Spent a bit too much in it.

        But… you guys get more games than us! Sumioni & American sports games (NBA, NFL, NHL, MLB stuff NEVER gets released over here), and more PSP games. And a certain 32GB memory card isn’t in our shops yet either.

        But you can play Burnout Legends? My jealousy knows no bounds. 😦
        My favourite PSP game, probably my favourite portable game (up against Pokemon Silver for that title). Bought it on download after having the UMD since day 1 a couple of days before the Vita launched (traded in my PSP) and assumed I’d be able to play it.

  2. I wonder if it’s the music licencing holding it up… or EA or Sony just being slow bastards? In either case, I feel for ya. The few games I have left that don’t work (like motorstorm) are driving me nuts.

    And it looks like we’re gonna go through this all over again with PSone games. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

