Mailbag 9/12/13

So I get a lot of random PMs on GAF or Twitter or just straight up emails asking me about stuff. As I was responding to this insanely long email I thought to myself “Dude! (I call myself dude) If you’re gonna put this much effort into answer questions put the shit on your site.”  So I’m going to withhold his name because he had no idea this was going to become public but this will be my first mailbag. I also didn’t clean up his spelling errors/etc.  If people like It I will keep doing them, if they don’t I might keep doing them.  If people stop sending me mail I will stop doing them.   On with the show.

(I will be answering in BOLD)

Hi Pete,
Hi.
First and foremost, thank you for saving the traditional console gaming experience with the  #PS4DRM movement. I usually buy my games new and don’t usually buy game used( I do rent though from Gamefly), but I don’t want to be treated as if I’m some criminal with the Xbox One’s previous policies.  I do have some questions though that may interfere with PS4’s success, plans that may be successful for PS4, HOME, PS4 VR for JAPAN Success and a few other things.

Thank you.  I don’t know how much we affected anything but #PS4NoDRM was one of the cooler things I’ve ever done.  If Sony wants to send me a free PS4 as payment I will not stop them.  

1.  The PS4 is using X86 architecture, which is good in terms of having PC developers port their games to PS4 and having game development overall being significantly easier than the Cell architecture, but I believe Sony/Mark Cerny may have a potienial STRONG oversight when creating the PS4. The “OG” Xbox was easily hacked in a short time period due to being X86, which led to piracy on that system. I’m quite worried that the same problem is going to effect the PS4, which some PC gamers on other sites are saying that it may be hacked within six months( I think atleast a year or two). I know you have some Sony connections, and I’m wondering if they share my same concern, and I would love your opinion on this matter as well. With the rise of indie developers, I see a “Renaissance” of gaming happening this generation and I don’t want the PS4 nor Xbox One to be hacked, which would hurt the indies cash flow for their business and closed down studios.

The X86 sounds like a good short-term goal, but a potentially negative long-term goal for Sony.

1. As far as I know the CPU doesn’t dictate one way or another how easy the system is to hack.  What it does dictate, however, is that once it is hacked the ease of which hackers can make new tools or homebrew apps for it.  They are familiar with x86 so it will be much easier to do than it was on the cell.  But that’s after they crack the security.  I have no idea how difficult/easy that will be.  The ps3 had pretty decent security.  The vita hasn’t been hacked yet other than the PSP loophole…  so I wouldn’t be too worried about it.  

2. Any news about PS4 Home? I heard from some “insider” on Beyond3D that Sony was doing something that was very “forwarding thinking” regarding PS4 Home. I’m not a huge fan of Home, but my brothers enjoys it for meeting new people for his PSN friend list. Unfortunately, none of the insiders on Neogaf said nothing about Home, which I’m assuming Sony may have scrapped Home for PS4.

2. I haven’t heard anything about PS Home but I’ve assumed that it’s being worked on.  It made Sony a lot of money.  At the same time, I doubt it would be at or near launch, I think the type of people that use it generally aren’t the type of people to buy launch systems.

3. If the PS4 VR is truly better than Octlus Rift and is priced nice for casuals, then they may have a potinetial hit. Is Sony treating this device as a add-on that they’ll forget within the next week(PS move)  or as a essential add-on to the PS4?

Was Sony really working on this VR before the Octlus Rift? Some PC gamers are saying something similar to “Sony copied Nintendo and are now copying the PC” kind of talk.  It does make wonder, since Shuhei Yoshida seemed to be hyping the Octlus Rift earlier in January on Twitter and eventually had Octlus Rift development kits. It doesn’t make since to be hyping a potential competitor’s product when your developing your own VR system, unless they ordered their Octlus Rift dev. kits to make improvements for their VR system.

If the VR system is cheap, nice quality and marketed right, I can see this saving the console industry in Japan. Japanese developers are very creative, and they can make alot of unique games with the system(a VR dating sim could sell ALOT). It’s going to be quite interesting how the consumers react to VR gaming.

3.  Yes, Sony has been working on VR headsets as a company for a long, long time.  They have some on the market for medical professionals and they have a consumer version for video.  The forthcoming PS4 Headset is definitely not Sony looking at O.R. and deciding they need to copy it.   Sony hasn’t decided how they are going to market it yet.  They obviously want the device to catch on…  but if you go all in on “this is essential to the ps4 experience” then people look at the price of the two combined and the PS4 is all of a sudden a very, very expensive piece of hardware.  But, as you said, if they say “yeah, it’s kinda cool” and don’t push it much beyond that it will languish for a few years and die quietly.  I have no idea which way they will go.  But, like the Move and 3D, you can expect their first party titles to support it at the very least.

4. Is the Wii U the next Sega Saturn? I usually buy all of the major game consoles, but Wii U is not interesting me at all. I would still complain if I’d payed $199 for the game line-up and the future releases that were shown from their Nintendo Directs. Unfortunately, some of the casuals that I know either don’t know it exist, don’t think it’s next-gen like PS4/X1 or even think the Wii U is a stupid idea. I just don’t think Nintendo would do good this generation, unless they think of something significantly good, but I’m not sure what they can do.

4.  I think the Sega Saturn is an apt comparison for the Wii U.  Mostly because it was the first to the market and ultimately underpowered.  The Saturn was a great system though with many fantastic games… just as the Wii U will be.  But I do think they have an uphill battle in terms of sales unless they can get the price of the thing way, way down.  

Also, regarding casuals, PS4 is favoring quite well with them in my area, while the X1 is gaining some steam due Microsofts “Real Games”, unlike Sony’s “PS2 graphic games”. Some of my casual gamer friends are silly, but I’m more interested in Rime and Razorgun(Super Star Durst spiritual successor) than X1 “Real Games”. However, I’m interested in Quantum Break and if RARE makes a Core game without the Kinect. I’m hoping Sony keeps up with the hype and know some casuals may want to see some more “Real games”, since some think Microsoft haves more games.

4A. Sony is definitely losing a little bit of momentum in the short term by focusing on smaller titles over bigger titles but this is a long generation and they are setting themselves up for the future nicely.  One problem that us gamers have is we don’t think about much past the upcoming season.  So it’s like “Well at launch Sony has less huge games announced than Microsoft oh nooooooo!” but in reality what it means is that Microsoft is already talking about games that are coming out deep into 2014 (Halo) and possibly 2015 or later (Quantum Break).  So this winter when Sony goes to GDC they will have games to talk about that we haven’t heard of yet…  meanwhile Microsoft will be talking about Halo, Titanfall and Quantum Break… again.  So I think Sony is fine with looking a bit weaker right now for the gains in the future.  Especially since they are going to sell out every PS4 they make over the first several months after launch…  so there’s really no need to blow their load now.  It’s impossible to sell more than “all” and it’s not worth losing future momentum in the hopes of keeping a few people from jumping to MS.  Also, it’s Resogun, not Razorgun.  Though Razorgun would be a cool game also.  

5. For a person who is not completely interested in Infamous(but Second Sound visually looks really nice), Demon Souls 2( I like Demon Souls, but not enough to be satisfied for just one retail PS4 game. I would love for them to do a Sci-Fi take on Demon Souls Spiritual Successor) and Uncharted 4( I like, but not love Uncharted.), do you think I would like PS4’s next year line-up? Without giving Alot of details(I kind like surprises actually), do you think it would exceed any of PS3’s best years?

Vernerus on Neogaf keeps hyping up Sony’s next year line-up and said that it will exceed or match any of PS3’s best years in terms of games within that PS3’s year, which some members were saying that they don’t believe him. Gohper D( A more trusted source in my opinion with a stronger record) replied to someone whom was in disbelief over Vernerus by saying ” he’s really, really not”. So, I hope PS4 next year line-up is really good. I like games like Jak, Sly(You and Vernerus said SLY 5 was approve for development, so I’m happy),  and other studios from Sony. I just want the return of the PS1/PS2 from Sony 🙂

5.  Well… no, I don’t think you will love the lineup this year if you don’t like those games.  The first year a console is out is usually games that are very similar to the last gen with a shiny coat of paint on them.  It sounds like you don’t love Sony exclusives so I don’t think that they will magically win you over…  except for Infamous.  Sucker Punch is seemingly getting better with each game they make and Infamous Second Son looks like that streak is continuing.  But Uncharted and whatever FROM Software are working on will be a big part of next year.  The Order will be also.  As for what else is coming…  I honestly don’t know.  Verendus on GAF has been hinting at a lot of big things but I haven’t heard what those things are and honestly I just don’t trust that dude. He has finally made some statements that we can judge though… about whether there is a JRPG coming, what the huge third party title coming that will “shock us” is.  If he’s right i’ll admit I was wrong about him.  But thus far all I’ve seen out him is vague stuff and repeating of already known info.

6. Was Sly 4 profitable for Sony? I assumed so, since they’re making a new one, but I wonder if it was just barely profitable. Also, was Puppeteer budget big? The graphics look really good, and haves music from Patrick Doyle, so I assume that the budget was bigger than Sly 4’s budget. I hope it sells well(Amazon’s free Savor shipping is terrible! They still did not shipped the game out).

6.  Sly 4 was profitable, yes.  It didn’t light the charts on fire but it didn’t need to.  It was made by smaller team and was fairly cheap to produce.  The Vita version is likely what made it a success.  Crossbuy in general has been helping Sony and other third parties move a lot more units than they would otherwise.  Also a lot of the sales, especially of the Vita version but also with the ps3 to a lesser extent, were through the PSN, which means Sony gets a much larger cut than through retail.  Puppeteer is not a big budget game either.  If it does pretty well in Japan and modestly everywhere else I think Sony will consider it a success.  Plus there are also games that are nice to have in your portfolio even if they don’t make you any money.  You see this with Film Studios also… they have their big budget movies that make hundreds of millions of dollars and then they have their more serious, art house style stuff that they aren’t really concerned with how much money they make… they just want to make something *GOOD*.  Sony does that a lot.  Probably because Sony has a Film Studio….

Thanks, and have a great day.

You too!

(And then he sent a followup email)

Forgot one more thing, Any news on Beyond Two Souls for PS4 or even GTA V for PS4? Vernerus gave a vague answer to GTA V for PS4, which I assume Rockstar will port to it, but I’m not too sure about Beyond.

I haven’t heard anything about Beyond but it wouldn’t surprise me.  GTAV on next gen consoles and the PC are a given, but they won’t be talking about them for a long time.  They would be cutting into sales of the current gen versions if they started talking about next gen versions.  Like it or not they are withholding info because they want people to double dip.  They also aren’t going to sell a next gen version until sales of the current gen version have tapered off so we could be looking at Fall 2014.  If you’re interested in GTA my advice is to just get it now.  I am.

And thus concludes my first (and last?) mailbag.  If you have any questions you’d like my opinion on feel free to send them to petedodd@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Mailbag 9/12/13

  1. This is good content, but all I just want know is if Sony were thinking about that online paywell will make that people stop buying games because they will gift them??

    and how many triples A will be released the next year?? and if the Santa Monica new ip game will be released in 2014 or 2015?? also I want know about the last guardian? 2014 or 2015???

Leave a Reply

