Xbox One OS and Xbox Live issues bouncing about as we approach launch

EDIT:  I wrote this entire thing on GAF but never got the go ahead from the mods to post it so I moved it over here.  There are formatting (as in HTML/ETC) errors because of that .  The guys’ I talked to also made spelling/grammar errors… we talked through means which require shortening of words.  I will own my mistakes… but don’t hold it against the people quoted that are incorrect – it’s how we talked.  I could fix it now but I feel like editing this would be dishonest so I’m keeping it as is and just leaving this up here.  

Ok, first off: the origin of the rumor. I was contacted by someone claiming to be a dev. He told me a bunch of info. I had no idea if it was true or not. I know a lot of people really hate me currently so I was very wary that I was being trolled by a well-informed person. I was looking for other sources for hours. Nothing. And then I got partial verification from another dev (not that he/she disagreed with part, but only knew part and said it was 100% correct) and then at once I got verification by two people who have never wronged me. So this isn’t flimsy but I’m still filing it under rumor because, well, it is.  But it isn’t.

I’m putting it all out on the line here. I enjoy breaking leaks but if this is wrong I’m fucked. I know this. This is how much I trust the people who have verified (and I hope for a CBoaT appearance).

The short story is that Xbox Live and the OS, especially in functions that involve XBL, are a complete fucking mess. One source says we aren’t talking weeks until it works correctly but “months.” Things like parties dropping people when moving from one thing to another. Connectivity issues. Missed invites. Friend requests not working, etc.

He then said “If all you are doing is running a game and that’s the only app things are fine.”

So why do think things are going wrong?

“The system OS and network integration was written by a group of people who do not play games. They don’t understand why things were set up in the ways they were designed by J Allard back in ’05.”

So… what changed?

“Let me get into some technical detail regarding it – on 360, the OS handles all of the party and chat functionality. All you do is hook up the XBL VOiP OS API into your game, and it does most of the work for you. With it results in is a shared experience across multiple entertainment. If you’re watching movies or playing games, you can do it together. However, this system is entirely different on Xbox One. So, lets say me, you, and Thuway have xbox one’s that are online. We are signed in our profiles. Sitting at the home screen, we are considered to be in a “Xbox Party” on the server. There are no more ‘party leaders’. With that said if any one of us decide to start a game, the party is shifted over to that game’s party system. Each game now has their custom written VOIP.” (Pete note: shoutout to thuway!)

“In essence, it is almost EXACTLY how it was on the PS3, and it is in those API “handshakes” that is breaking the online experience.”

I asked if could be fixed soon. He said that anything is possible and Microsoft is obviously working on it but he thinks it will be months, not weeks. Getting online launch games certified is taking so long that it’s pushing games after launch back.

Talking to a different developer he says: “Yeah, getting anything online to work was a pain for months, barely worked at the very end of last month. Adding friends, sending game invites or even achievements’ toasts could be a nightmare. I don’t know that much outside of “my” project, but from what I saw in others, online was always a problem. No idea if this will still be an issue at launch though, I think it would be too much, but it looks like it won’t be flawless at all.”

As of now the Xbox One OS and XBL (the name for the XBL side of Azure is “Thunderhead”) are having major issues. Maybe it will be fixed in time, maybe it won’t. The obvious question to me was does this have to do with Microsoft reversing the DRM and having to strip it out (Pete note: That would partially make it my fault and I wouldn’t like that at all)?

“This was happening either way. This was built into the OS long ago. The DRM-removal clogged their pipelines somewhat, but this blockage was always there. It’s just simply a way they setup the VOIP API and how it would be handled. It was an oversight, not just voip, all of parties and network connectivity really.”

Ok, anything else?

“By the way, do not be surprised at the reaction you get from MS over this.”

Yeah, I know.

165 thoughts on “Xbox One OS and Xbox Live issues bouncing about as we approach launch

  1. Cheapgamer you suck dick mort is right also fuel to the fire watchdogs got delayed cause of us and are shitty ways,ubi said ps4 was running 1080p 60fps but we told them to delay it also
    Cheapgamer stop sucking are dicks cause you use your teeth

  2. This conspiracy of silence will not stand. Amir0x touched me, while beating his mother. I have been repeatedly raped by Arthur Gies. And Kevin Dent jerked it in art class. Sessler watched.

  3. SenjutsuSage would like you to kindly post in his 300th Ryse thread. If it achieves 100 posts, Arthur Gies will pop from a cake. Sessler will be left holding his bag.

  4. What is really cool is when the consoles launch, false rumors should mean that Famous Mortimer and CBOAT should be getting permmed off of NeoGaf Right?

    Come on Tyler. Spreading lies and false rumors about a company or product has to have a consequence right?

    • Asses (and potential asstorms) have been covered by use of “could” and “No idea if this will still be an issue at launch.”

      If there are even minor problems for a few days (which I don’t think anyone doesn’t expect) they can jump up and down and high five and pretend like they were right about something.

      One does not simply permaban the two people most responsible for GAF’s current level of credibility…and number of clicks.

  5. derFeef, are you ok? Are you breathing, Hocus Pocus? FordGTGuy, can you still get erect? Opus Angelorum, how is MS doing? DopeyFish, we can do this! Prine, you there? SenjutsuSage, please check-in! Where’s my dawg, CrunchinJelly? UNCMark, do your work boo! Statham, c’mon man, rally!

    Let’s hit ’em hard! Sonygaf is gonna swerve! We got this, my dudes!

  6. This is not damage control but you guys know that Dodd is doing this just to get hits right?
    This is all just bullshit. People respect Dodd because they heard some Sony rumors that came true, but he knows nothing about Microsoft and who knows what his “Sources” are feeding him to spread lies out there on the Internet to get hits. Don’t fall for it. Use your head with “Logic” and “Reason”. Do you really think that Microsoft would have something like this so late in the game that thousands of people just “missed”.

    Lies and Bullshit, how does it work?

  7. Let’s be honest…
    This was an attempt to hijack the Xbox One UI thread because when you can’t win on games you just can’t win. So you have to try to hijack the thread because it was positive about the XB1 to put some bullshit to stop the positive news.

    Here is the bitch Pete, you can’t stop it forever. People are going to be finding out that you have been lied to from your source. You can’t keep putting out anti-Microsoft bullshit forever and not lose credibility.

    In my mind anything anti-Microsoft posts that you make are bogus and trying to set yourself up as a anti-Microsoft Astrotufer will not work forever.

  8. You are an alcoholic, and are not even meaningfully employed to afford Xbox One or PS4. You also tried to sell yourself to Sony by initiating contact with Adam Boyes…who reprimanded you by saying “You are not qualified”. So admittedly you are pro-Sony and not in a good mental condition [1]. Here you are spouting rumors from your “sources”, affecting so many engineers. You know well how many people work for these divisions, and gaming is already a horrible community. So well done by polluting this hell hole with further vitriol. You have not worked in a dev shop, or even have written a thesis. Crunch times are always there in big shops. People work overtime to solve it. You covered your ass by saying, issues can or cannot be solved in coming month. So all this nonsense, to get neoGAF credibility? You are in your 40’s, but your mental capacity is not at its best and you are a petulant child and an attention whore. Good luck with your career. I am repulsed by gaming community, and hate to be a part of it sometimes. Please, you will not be responsible for anything in the end, rabid fanboy replies will maybe spur your adrenaline for some time, but real developers have babies to care for and not internet karma. You are not a responsible person. Good night and good luck to you.

  9. Who really thinks that the features listed won’t work on day one with the update?
    Pete thinks that Microsoft is stupid and they apparently don’t have better planning or better people to handle this.

    Pete, you are such a fraud. Can you post the email? I need to send a list of names to Microsoft’s legal department so they can take of your source.

  10. When i have sex with my husband sometimes he makes me come so hard that i lose my control and i squirt and sometimes poop. squirting and pooping is perfectly normal during sex.

  11. ROFL
    You know you’re doing something right, when all the Xbox fanboys are crawling out from under their green rock and throwing insults at you.

    Keep it up, Pete!

  12. speak to insider. he tell me that all ps4 are exploding after 30 minutes of use. also consoles have nothing inside,only iou for future parts later on. you must buy parts from sonny direct and put in yourself. my insider is bery good! has not let down before.

  13. My LindedIn is better than yours. Mine may be fantasy, but all my twitter friends like me. Arthur holds me, Sessler caresses me, Brad loves me, and Ben fucks me.

    I am a God.

  14. Everytime Microsoft comes out with good news or posts a new video you NeoGaf guys make up a new rumor on how its so terrible. NeoGaf should be shut down.

  15. I doubt it’s true, honestly.
    People are talking about microsoft like they’re a bunch of bumbling fools that never play video games and don’t know what they’re doing. But they’re wrong. The guys up at Microsoft are some of the most intelligent software and hardware engineers in the world, especially those that work at the xbox LIVE department.
    That’s why live gets a lot less crashes than PSN. They have a lot more funding, and a lot more employees.If this is a problem, it’ll no doubt be fixed by launch or in a day-one patch.
    Mark my words.

    • MS have plenty of people in the “how can we get more money out of these gamers while doing the least work. For a start lets buy the blu-ray drive from Sony and while we are doing that see if they have any old betamax cases from the 80’s for use to stick our underpowered pc parts in.

  16. I can’t be biased. I mean, I’m an MS MVP and made some Sony themes. I also have black friends. …oh, new xbox thread. Gotta go mask sure nothing negative gets posted.

  17. my source good. he say that ps4 cloud is literal cloud, must wait for good weather conditions for streaming ps1 games. but ps1 games are electronic! not evaporative. so how to transfer? sony engineers do not know.

  18. oh man!

    all these comments are hilarious!

    most are bots right?

    or are there really such mentally deranged persons able to write all that shit posing as different persons?

  19. MS lovers drive me mental, the xbox have always been sub par and the xbone is no different. Developers have to write for the lowest common denominator, the xbox, this is why the games look the same, it is not because the xbox is as powerful as the PS3. For all the people the disagree please look at uncharted or the last of us and then suck it………..

  20. FUCK YOU PETE DODD. YOU ARE A FAGGOT!!!!!! AND DIE. ALL THIS IS TRULY BULLSHIT TO THE CORE. YOU THINK YOU CAN BOYCOTT XBOX WITH YOUR STUPID ASS NEGOGAF SHIT. NOT GOING TO WORK. WE ARE NOT STUPID NEITHER IS MICROSOFT. YOU BLIND ASSHOLE. FUCK YOUR BLOG. FAKE DEVELOPER. LIKE YOU KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT XBOX, NO JACK SHIT. YOU THINK I GOING TO BELIEVE ALL YOUR BULLSHIT. YOUR ARTICLE IS BULLSHIT, YOUR BLOG IS BULLSHIT, NO PROOF, ALL LIES. FUCK OFF. THINKING YOU CAN FOOL THE PRESS, SINCE SOME PRESS ARE RETARDED THEY BELIEVE THE SHIT THAT CAME OUT OF YOUR BLOG AND THAT NEOGAF. FUCK OFF. LIKE IT OR NOT XBOX ONE IS HERE TO FUCKING STAY, ITS GOING TO SELL NO MATTER WHAT. ENJOY DEVELOPING A FAKE ASS BOX, BECAUSE YOU ARE NOT A FUCKING DEVELOPER, WHAT GAME ARE YOU MAKING, LET ME GUESS = TROLLLLLLLLLL

  21. Is I, misterxmedia. new insider info! ps4 is actually big tin of beans. not designed for games or any kind of computation equipment. sonygaf will open boxes at release, get beans, hafe big shock! my sources are impeccable.

    • I’m a Dev and Sony is in some deep shit , the problem is they went with Lima Beans this Gen , Big fucking mistake , They are apparently a lot different then the Kidney Beans used in last gen and the Sony dev’s are having a bitch of a time figuring it out and getting anything to run. Last heard they bought a couple of metric fuck ton of Cannellini Beans and might have to redesign from scratch.

  22. As part of a previously mentioned required test protocol, we can no longer lie to you.

    Cake and grief counseling will be available at the conclusion of the beta test.

  23. i return! ps4 has not controller but just camera. more ripping off of microsoft! BUT not as good as originel controller or Kinect! what sony do? engineers do not know. big problem!

  24. And the internet fools claim another premature death. The thing hasn’t even released and all the losers are on here singing the Xbox death march. When will all you blind sheep learn to think on your own……….yep, if it’s on the internet it must be right. Now I’m gonna go cuddle up to my new French model gf………………bonjooooor!

  25. Gentlemen, Ladies. Is their really the need for hostility? I am a hardcore gamer and am keen to get my hands on the Xbox one, purely because that is my preference. I would never slag off Sony or Microsoft, purely because they are the only two contenders and have to clear up their own mess. Be logical, no matter what next gen console you buy, let’s just hope as gamers, we get the enjoyment we deserve. The rumours are great to fill the gap until we get our consoles but, come on, let’s not tear each other apart. let’s share/discuss the rumours, agree, disagree but not butt f*ck each other in the process!!!
    I am in a sad space, as I have just traded both my PS3 & my Xbox 360 in to pay for my future investment.

  26. When the 360 released, the Red Ring of Death was enough reason for me to hold off buying one until they had fixed the problem. I don’t see any good reason to buy an XBone on release day. I can’t think of a single major release title that would make buying it immediately worthwhile.

  27. Remember when people thought this was legit? I’ve been playing on my Xbox One since a little after midnight and everything works flawlessly. In fact, Xbox Live hasn’t even had a hiccup.

  28. IT WAS ALL A LIE!!!!!!!!!!!
    you are such a fucking loser. lying and spreading FUD. Fuck you. Seriously.
    How much did sony pay you for this SHIT?
    spreading bullshit lies about xbox one. what a fucking LIER. can’t believe people actually believe you. wtf?!?!?

Leave a Reply

